From Scratch

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake! This is one of my favorite desserts everything from the pineapples to the brown sugar to the taste of the butter that moistens the cake. My mouth is watering as I think about it. One of my favorite things about the cake is that I have never had to make one. I have only enjoyed the fruits of someone elses labor. I have never shopped for the right ingredients or ran out of eggs and had to go back to the store. I have never burned a cake and had to start all over again or put too much batter in the pan and caused the cake to overflow. I have only sat down and enjoyed the finished product.

This is how I feel about church planting. Throughout my life I have enjoyed the fruits of years of consistent ministry put together and ready made for me. Now I am at the beginning stages of making a pineapple upside-down cake, for Jesus. Although I have never made the cake before, I have tasted one and I have read many books about what proper ingredients to purchase. The main thing I have learned that goes into this cake is a calling by God to do this.

I was called to church planting the day I said yes to becoming a disciple of Christ. The day I became serious about serving God with my life, Jesus signed me up for this calling of making disciples who make disciples. Lifework Christian Ministries will be just that a ministry that builds and prepares disciples for Christ’s work in our community and throughout the world.

This weekend as I closed down my ministry with the awesome youth of Geist Christian Church (DOC), I also give birth to Lifework Christian Ministries. This major faith walk comes with fear and humility, with joy and happiness, and all things that come with stepping out on faith.

As we start our journey towards our launch (February 12, 2012) I need you to do three things for me:

1) Pray – God’s favor, empowerment, and provisions over our ministry and my family.

2) Donate – Donate your time in prayer, support, and even in some of our service opportunities. Donate your talent in connecting with our attractional events and worship experiences. Donate your treasure through your financial gift of $20, $200, or $2,000. Any amount would help launch this Jesus ministry.

3) Pray – God’s had and leading in everything we do.

In a few short weeks we will hold our first attractional worship experience. Let’s get excited! Let’s make Jesus an awesome Pineapple Upside-Down Cake!

Leave a Reply

