Faith vs Fear

“Believe me: I am in my Father and my Father is in me. If you can’t believe that, believe what you see—these works. The person who trusts me will not only do what I’m doing but even greater things, because I, on my way to the Father, am giving you the same work to do that I’ve been doing. You can count on it. From now on, whatever you request along the lines of who I am and what I am doing, I’ll do it. That’s how the Father will be seen for who he is in the Son. I mean it. Whatever you request in this way, I’ll do.” – John 14:11-14 (Message)

Last night across the Midwest of the United States of America millions of people were hiding in basements, bathrooms, shelters, and any safe place found to protect them from the storms that caused so much damage and destruction for many. As I listened (only for a moment) to the news and watched on facebook how fear was the overarching theme, I couldn’t help but make the connection to how we view life.

Many of us live our lives in safety, for fear of doing something different, something strange, something out of the ordinary. Being safe in the in the confines of our “box life” becomes our life’s goal. Comfort. Safety. Maintaining. What would happen if we began to live for greater? What if we really believed Jesus’ words that we will not only do what Jesus did but “Greater“? 

Why should we be stuck in fear when God has promised us greater? Why would we fear the storms of life, when Jesus has shown us how to say, “Peace be still” (Mark 4:39)? It is very interesting to me how we as believers attend churches weekly and yet don’t believe the God we worship. We may believe Jesus for salvation, but what about believing Christ for the power to do “even greater works“?

I am ready to leave comfort behind and strive for greater. It is time to stop allowing fear to debilitate us, it’s time for greater. Greater faith, greater service, greater love, greater outreach, greater witnessing, and greater disciple making. Jesus commissioned us to do greater in His name, according to who He is, in His character. It’s time to answer the call. Let’s do this together.

Leave a Reply

