The Gift

Have you ever wondered why God has given you special gifts. Certain spiritual gifts that seem to bless others and help empower others to strive for all they can be in Christ. This past week I attended this conference and was blown away by the idea of the missional and incarnational church movement. Although this is nothing new as far as the vision God has given me for a mission driven community of believers I will plant, but I was enlivened by the way the ideas were packaged.

Especially, the ideas described by Alan Hirsch. It is amazing how for many years we have continued to do ministry in a colonial mode of doing ministry. NO MORE! It is time for us to embrace doing ministry how Christ did ministry, from within the people. 

Throughout my life I have seen ministry done by imposing our views, values, and visions on others verses figuring out how the Gospel is interpreted and understood in the context of those we have been sent to. My heart has been pricked by God to move forward with the mission found inMatthew 28: 18-20 (Message)

Jesus, undeterred, went right ahead and gave his charge: “God authorized and commanded me to commission you: Go out and train everyone you meet, far and near, in this way of life, marking them by baptism in the threefold name: Father, Son, and Holy Spirit. Then instruct them in the practice of all I have commanded you. I’ll be with you as you do this, day after day after day, right up to the end of the age.”

This is what being a Christian (one who is like Christ) or a Disciple of Christ (one who follows the path and guidance of Christ). Making Disciples! But not in our traditional sense of the term. Often when we say we are “Making Disciples” we are really only talking about getting people to join the church (building) and pay tithes (dues).

What would happen if we ignited a passion for Christ in people and gathered partners in the mission of saving souls, healing the pain in our world, and creating change in our culture? What would happen if people gave because they believed in the mission and gave out of a heart full of cheer (2 Cor. 9:7)? What would that look like? How awesome would it be if every believer understood we were all called to the ministry of “Making Disciples” for Jesus Christ?

This is what I am beginning to understand why God has blessed me with so many gifts. Not so I could boast about anything, but rather so I can give him glory in everything. Well God, I am ready to stand up and join your movement to bring your people back to their purpose in you. I am ready to roll with you no matter what. I have been in a preparation and conditioning program for a little more than a year and now is the time to press forward.

Will you join me in this movement towards mission? It won’t be easy but it is what we were (as believers) called to do, “Make Disciples”. On your job, in your neighborhood, on mission trips, at the YMCA, in the grocery, in the mall, wherever you are don’t sit back, stand up and allow your gifts be put to use for God’s glory.

Leave a comment