Patience and Preparation

During this process called “LIFE” I have learned that not everything moves on my timetable or just because I desire for it to work out a certain way. Over the past month I have been preparing for Kyla to join me here in the States and for Khalil to join us on this journey of life.

What I had overlooked was the cost of the impact of both transitions of starting a new family and starting a new ministry. As I searched scripture to find understanding in this life, I came accross Luke 14:28-30 about counting the cost.

28“Suppose one of you wants to build a tower. Will he not first sit down and estimate the cost to see if he has enough money to complete it? 29For if he lays the foundation and is not able to finish it, everyone who sees it will ridicule him, 30saying, ‘This fellow began to build and was not able to finish.’

Although I have a passion for new church ministry and a desire to plant and new church, I also have a stronger passion to provide stability (spiritual, financial, and emotional) for my family.

In my understanding of ministry, family is my first ministry. I believe that if I am able to lay a strong foundation for my family, I will be able to lay an even stronger foundation for the church God has called me to build.

With all of this going on in my head and discussing it with Kyla, we both have decided it is best to build a firm foundation for our family (me, Kyla, and Khalil) first in order to start our ministry on a firm foundation. So during this season we will stay in Indianapolis and build our family, our finances, and our foundation.

I have decided to take a position as Youth Pastor at Geist Christian Church and continue assisting my brother in the ministry Richard Reynolds in his new church, New Revelation Christian Church.

It was a hard decision to make but I would rather move in God’s time and in wisdom of preparation and patience than to start something that I could not finish. Prior Proper Preparation Prevents Poor Performance. It is always best to walk in wisdom than to operate in a rush. I believe God’s blessing over my beautiful family and when our time come to start a new ministry we will be prepared to move forward in power and confidence in the foundation we lay now.

Keep us in your prayers as we begin this new transition of family life and ministry. Stay tuned to see what God is doing in our lives.

Let’s Get It!!!

4 thoughts on “Patience and Preparation

  1. Pastor Banks;

    I’m so very very proud of you allowing God to speak to you and discussing your decision with your wife…God is working on you behalf and I’m proud that you are allowing him to speak to you…patience is a virture…God is preparing you for Greatness I love you son. God bless you and your family. What God has for you is for you in time!

    Mother!

  2. “Though you are a time-bound creature, seek to meet ME in timelessness. As you focus on MY presence, the demands of time and tasks will diminish.”

    Jesus Calling by Sarah Young

  3. Yes, yes, yes Oscar!! I thank God for you and your family, and for walking in obedience. It is evident that GOD is getting ready to do something. I’m sure that believer’s everywhere are feeling a pressure in having to make the decision whether they are all the way in this thing or not. Recently, there have many men and women of GOD, strong believers at one point, have given up, walked away from GOD to go back into the world to do their own thing. It is so important that we position ourselves in order to be used by GOD in a might way for his glory. Thank you for you and your family being fellow soldiers in the army of the LORD to prepare to fight the enemy and win souls for the kingdom! It seems our numbers are decreasing in the area I live in. But its good to hear from believer’s in the faith elsewhere who are preparing their minds, flesh and family everyday even by small acts of obedience. I pray that you continue to fight the good fight, be led by the spirit, and lead your family. Your role is so important. You are the gatekeeper!! I look forward to hearing the updates in your life, I enjoy them. Also, its good to encourage one another. Love you Muffins!

Leave a Reply

