Love is the Rule!

As this Health Care debate continues and I see my conservative brothers and sisters opposing everything, it makes my heart hurt to think these are the same people accused of being Jesus fanatics. Usually it is the conservative party that supports things that line up with biblical principles. On many occasions I see clearly where they stand and why various decisions have been made, but on health care I just don’t get it. (except for the political posturing to stand against anything Obama. but what about the people who are struggling to care for their families needs.)

In Matthew 22:34-40 we get a clear understanding of what rules to govern our ideas and decisions by:

34-36When the Pharisees heard how he had bested the Sadducees, they gathered their forces for an assault. One of their religion scholars spoke for them, posing a question they hoped would show him up: “Teacher, which command in God’s Law is the most important?”

37-40Jesus said, “‘Love the Lord your God with all your passion and prayer and intelligence.’ This is the most important, the first on any list. But there is a second to set alongside it: ‘Love others as well as you love yourself.’ These two commands are pegs; everything in God’s Law and the Prophets hangs from them.”

When we govern ourselves by love we don’t desire to keep others from receiving that which we would never live without. Health Care is a major necessity in the world we live in today and there are millions upon millions that die each year without it. This is not about race or ethnicity, this is about humanity. This is about children, not about our political leanings. This is about doing what is right. Those who can afford the best health care will continue to have better health care, but those who struggle to get the basics would at least be able to see a doctor without the worry of going bankrupt.

“Love your neighbor as yourself” is the basis of all the biblical principles and should be the basis of lifestyle for any person who believes themselves to be Christian.

This is my personal view on a universal spiritual law. If we love others as we love ourselves, wouldn’t we want everyone to have the opportunity to be healthy and level the playing field in education (this is for the next debate).

I vote yes on healthcare for all and no on posturing. Let’s Get It!!!

My political 2 cents!

2 thoughts on “Love is the Rule!

  1. Greetings from another follower of Christ Jesus. I appreciate you looking at this issue from a biblical stand point and you have given me some things to think about. I would like to ask you to consider that Jesus gave those instructions to His followers to do personally. He did not say let Cesar love others, He commanded us to love others.

    You should not allow a government to take the place of you when it comes to charity for the less fortunate. Look at what is happening in Haiti, millions of dollars from American citizens are being given out of love, why? Yes, partly because we want to help but there is also the knowledge that their government is not helping. Why did those same people that gave to Haiti not give money to the homeless and hungry in their own neighborhoods? Because we are trained from youth that the federal government will take care of them with out tax money. Where is the lesson in love in waiting for a government to administer to our neighbors?

    Jesus taught us that we should take care of our neighbors ourselves and the more the government takes from us is less we can give. The federal government is robbing us from the blessings Jesus intended for us through charitable works. We are becoming more and more a heartless civilization not because we don’t want to help but because we are being told that it is not our job to help, that the government will take care of the sick and the hungry.

    I pray that you take this as iron sharpening iron and if I am wrong I pray that I do not cause you to stumble. I pray your ministry is blessed and that Jesus’s good works is carried out by you.

    In Christ, God bless.

    1. I totally agree with what you have voiced. We are called to take care of our neighbor ourselves, but I don’t know about you but I am not wealthy enough to give the millions of people the basic health care they need. It is important for Christians to allow the rule of love to guide even our policies in politics. No matter what happens we are getting robbed of God’s blessings to pay for those without health insurance but I would rather have a system in place that covers the uninsured than one that I am blindly paying into regarless.

      We as Christians are called to cover the helpless, hopeless, orphan, and widow. What I can’t do personally (because of my own needs) I must use my influence to allow for them to be covered. (Read Is. 58 and James 2:27)

      I can help some of the homeless in my community but I can’t cover their medical expenses. Can you? Hmmm I think not. So what would you perscribe for our wretched health insurance system? How else would you help those millions who are in desprate need? Please enlighten.

      Grace and Blessing,

Leave a Reply

