Can you believe with me?

Somebody had to do it.

WOW! This has been an amazing week and I have talked to so many people about the vision for ministry. For most it has been a breath of fresh air, for others it has been a threat to the status quo, and for the rest it is just plain weird.

As I walk with God, seek his plan, and open my life to his grace and mercy, I can’t help but ask my self “Why?”

Then I think about it. It is because not many are doing the mission that I believe God has called us to do. This mission is found in Isaiah 61:1-3

“The Spirit of the Lord GOD is upon Me,
Because the LORD has anointed Me
To preach good tidings to the poor;
He has sent Me to heal the brokenhearted,
To proclaim liberty to the captives,
And the opening of the prison to those who are bound;
2 To proclaim the acceptable year of the LORD,
And the day of vengeance of our God;
To comfort all who mourn,
3 To console those who mourn in Zion,
To give them beauty for ashes,
The oil of joy for mourning,
The garment of praise for the spirit of heaviness;
That they may be called trees of righteousness,
The planting of the LORD, that He may be glorified.”

This is also echoed by the one we are called to be like, Jesus Christ in Luke 4:18. This week, as I had conversation after conversation about the prospects of planting a ministry such as the one I believe God has called me to lead, it revealed why.

Many Christians (and probably most religious people) desire to practice their perspective religion in some form of a worship service. This allows us to express our love for God in the presence of each other and before God in a place dedicated for such worship practices. (Tell me if I am wrong in that observation.) I agree this is one of the most important components of ministry, but I believe that it is a component and not the basis of who we are called to be.

If that was the basis of what Jesus called us as Christians to be why would he have preached the gospel, heal the sick, empower the oppressed, deliver the bound, and set free the captive?

I desire to begin ministry with effective and empowering service to the community in such a dynamic way that from the service we will build a church of people who have a heart for service. I am crazy enough to believe that their are people out there that may be sick of church but willing to serve in the name of Christ. I am crazy to believe that through their service, God will form a body of believers that come together for the purpose of worship, encouragement, empowerment, and sending forth. I am crazy enough to believe that through bible studies, fellowship, and events throughout the community we will bring people from various races and social backgrounds together. I am crazy enough to believe that God will use me to lead such a movement.

Now is the time. I need your prayers and your support. Tell a friend and stay connected. Let’s do this together.

2 thoughts on “Can you believe with me?

  1. I am crazy enough to believe with you. I ask you to always pray for me….. I need to jump into the deep in some things here in Tobago. But I am just crazy enough to believe that God will make sure I wont drown. All the best and remember what Joshua was told. Be strong and courageous! Peace and Every Blessing…know you have my support despite the distance I am holding your hand while we run this race!

    1. Thanks Cher,
      I pray for you, you pray for me. Ministry in the name of Jesus Christ takes major risks, but has even greater rewards. Let’s keep our hand to the plow and let’s believe together.

Leave a Reply

