Life, I wonder…

Matthew 6:33-34   “But seek first the kingdom of God and His righteousness, and all these things shall be added to you.  34 “Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about its own things. Sufficient for the day is its own trouble.

Every time I see this image I begin to think about what he is thinking about. It causes me to go into deep thought about life, past, present and future. I begin to think about why God chose me to be where I am and do the things I am doing.

Through my thinking I can never come up with any understanding of the famous question, “WHY ME!” When I think about growing up in a single parent home, the youngest of four, and knowing I had some learning and behavior problems. It is difficult to recollect on those hurtful memories and find the peace in knowing that those things we go through as children shape who we are today.

As I watched on the news, read on the web, and talked with church members about the earthquake and the long term effect it will have on the people; I could not but wonder how the young people will remember this event. Will their memories be filled with the  loss of their home, family members, church, friends, schools, etc. Or will the hold to the memories of millions of people around the world praying for them, sending food, clothing, water, and goods.

I can’t even imagine what those thoughts might be 15-20 years from now. But when I look back over my life and I remember the storms and times I felt my life was shaken up I often remember God’s grace that kept me through the storm. I often remember those people God sent to encourage, empower, and embrace the whole of me.

Similar to the rescue helicopters that descend to give aid and relief to the people of any disaster, I think about those people who had to reach down and help me through some of my life’s disasters.

As I see myself now married, an Associate Pastor in Jamaica, planning to plant a church, having attained my BA and MDiv, and seeking to pursue a PhD or DMin. I believe God is able to do just what he said he would do. From a young troubled boy to a young servant of God, I truly believe that seeking God through your storm will lead to everything working out for your good.

Keep praying and do something for our brothers and sisters in Haiti and those that have been affected by this crisis.

Leave a Reply

